£7.75 - £27.75

Start time: 7:30pm

Brahms – Piano Concerto No.2

Vaughan Williams  –  A London Symphony (Symphony No.2)

Karl-Heinz Steffens, Boris Giltburg

Vaughan Williams’ Second Symphony has been described as the musical equivalent of Monet’s paintings of the sun rising over a foggy Thames. Actual London sounds fleetingly emerge from an exquisitely woven musical tapestry – the chimes of Big Ben, the cry of a lavender-seller. Central to the symphony’s success is the wonderful limpid scoring, which Vaughan Williams felt in later life that he had never bettered. All of Brahms’ four instrumental concertos were milestones in his compositional development. The Second Piano Concerto was written shortly after the Second Symphony and is itself symphonic in scale and form, comprising four movements. It makes great demands on the performer’s technique, with its wide octave spans and quickly alternating rapid scale and chordal passages.


Time advertised is start time


Multibuy Discounts for the BSO Season:
– Book any 5+ concerts and get 10% off
– Book any 3-4 concerts and get 5% off

Event details

Classical Music

Age: 14's and under to be accompanied by an 18+ adult

Concessions: Students, patrons on UC, ESA, PIP, ISA or JSA, wheelchair users and personal assistants.


Discounted parking tickets are available online or at the box office.


No flash photography or iPads are allowed.


Kindly note the advertised price includes a booking fee (BF) of 10%.


No externally bought drinks or any liquids - only certain food will be allowed. See our house rules for more information.


All events at Portsmouth Guildhall include a ticket restoration levy.


See our house rules.


Find out the location of your seat.

Want more?

Make your visit an experience to remember.


We are committed to providing the best possible experience for all.

You can add this option during purchase or by calling the Box Office

Your browser is out of date!

Using an abandoned browser impacts your security and privacy.

Update your browser to use this site. Update my browser now